Adjunct Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award

Please visit this page on Friday, April 9th at noon to view the live awards program!


The Center for Faculty Excellence is delighted to host the inaugural Adjunct Excellence Awards event on Friday, April 9 from 12-1 p.m. This event will be held both in-person (UC Anchor Ballroom) and virtually via YouTube Live. We are looking forward to celebrating our Islander adjunct faculty and their valuable contributions to the campus community! 

The finalists for the Adjunct Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award are:

1.    Laura Day (Communication & Media)

2.    D. Scott Elliff (Educational Leadership)

3.    Jacqueline Hamilton (Health Science)

4.    Brad Kisner (Music)

5.    Cassie White (Art) 



Adjunct Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award Criteria and Procedures

Nominations are accepted from Oct. 15 – Nov. 15


The Adjunct Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award is awarded annually and recognizes outstanding achievements that have enhanced the TAMU-CC community. Relevant activities include outstanding classroom teaching, innovative class activities, projects and assignments, effective use of technology to enhance student learning and service-learning projects that impact the TAMU-CC community. The contributions must occur within the capacity of teaching.


All current adjunct TAMU-CC adjunct faculty who have taught at TAMU-CC for a minimum of six (6) academic terms in the last five academic years, including Fall, Spring and Summer semesters, are eligible for nomination. Candidates who won the award in the previous year are not eligible for a consecutive award.


The fundamental criterion considered for a nomination is the Adjunct Faculty’s outstanding performance of professional responsibilities associated with their instructional contractual assignment(s). This is evidenced by, but not limited to, student evaluations and teaching performance recognized by program coordinators, full-time faculty, department chairs and/or deans.


To nominate an adjunct faculty member, please fill out this application. Nominations are accepted from Oct. 15 – Nov. 15 and are encouraged come from a full range of instructional settings.

All campus faculty, administrators, students, chairs, directors, deans, and staff members may nominate individuals for this prize. Self-nominations are also encouraged. A person may be nominated by more than one person.

All eligible nominations will be reviewed by the Adjunct Faculty Awards Committee. Finalists will be invited by Dec. 1 to submit a portfolio.


The department chair, program coordinator, or their designee (please avoid asking the nominee to do the labor) should ensure the nominee’s eligibility and create a nomination packet (a pdf file not to exceed 25 pages) for the nominee that includes the following:

  • A 1-page (maximum) summary highlighting contributions to the TAMU-CC community, emphasizing excellence in teaching.
  • At least two letters of support written by anyone familiar with the nominee’s teaching. The letters should emphasize how the nominee has exceeded the scope of their assigned duties.
  • Evaluations of teaching from students and supervisors.
  • Course materials that highlight excellence in teaching.
  • CV or résumé emphasizing excellence in teaching.

Portfolios are due by Feb. 15 to Only complete applications will be considered, and late materials will not be accepted. The assessment rubric includes the categories of Clarity, Originality, Effort, TAMU-CC Impact, and Community Impact.

Award Decision

The Adjunct Faculty Awards Committee makes all award decisions for the TAMU-CC Adjunct Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award. The committee is made up of one representative appointed by the dean from each college. Other non-voting appointees made by made at the discretion of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs.

If additional information about a nominee is required for validation or clarification, the nominee may be contacted. Final committee recommendations will be forwarded to the Provost and VPAA by mid-March.

Award Notification

The public identification of the individual is held secret until the awards are presented at the ceremony in April.

Award Payment

The award consists of a $1,000 for the first-place winner and $250 for the runner up.

Annual Timeline*

October 15th: Call for Nominees.

November 15th: Initial Nomination Due (link in call).

December 1st: Notifications to Finalists to Submit Portfolios.

February 15th: Finalist Portfolios Due to

Mid-April: Recognition of Awardees.

*If the specified date does not fall on a workday; the materials are due the next workday after the date.


Please direct questions to: Dr. Amy Aldridge Sanford (, Associate Provost, Academic Affairs.